Our last day in paradise!

Why do vacations go by SO quick?  How can our week be up already?  We are not ready to go back to work, chores, traffic, fast food, you know…the “rat race”!  Our last day we just hung out at the resort again, and enjoyed a care free day at the beach.  Orlando, our concierge came to find us, and say his good byes.  I loved how he said “Miss Maci, Why are you going home tomorrow?” All I could say was, that was the hardest question I had been asked all week! Why indeed!?

I can say without hesitation, I think this was the our best vacation yet.  It was the perfect blend of adventure and relaxation, and I loved showing the kids a new country and culture.  They seemed to really enjoy Costa Rica, as much as I do.

People say to me all the time, that I travel too much, or ask sarcastically “Didn’t you just go somewhere?”  The thing is, I do love to travel, to see new places, and experience new adventures, but more than that I love the quality time it gives me with my family, friends, and travel companions.  Time away puts you in a whole new state of mind.  A more conscious state of mind, I would say.  Being away, no one is preoccupied with work, deadlines, chores, homework, emails,  calls, texts, or who has practice that night, and when will I have time to make dinner!  We can enjoy that sunset for all its glory, or laugh til we cry because my  kids think my Spanish is the funniest thing they have ever heard.   I will be the butt of their jokes all day long, just to see them laugh like that!  When the stress of the “rat race” is removed it is so much easier to be mindful of each other, the people, and the world around us; To enjoy each other, to enjoy a conversation with someone from across the country, or around the world, to see a sight you have never seen before, to sign and waiver and do something that scares you, just a little bit.  To live, and laugh, and recharge!  That is why I do what I do, I want to help others experience a week like we just had, to create memories that will last a lifetime. That is why I share my trips with the world, to help people see that travel is one of the most rewarding things you can ever do with, or give to your children!

tulemar

Leave a comment